Organisation News

IAPSM WB State Conference - 2018

IAPSM WB Chapter organized the 34th Annual Conference on 4th and 5th May 2018 at College of Medicine and Sagore Dutta Hospital. **Two Hundred and Thirty Three (233) members and Five (5) non-members (total 238) registered for our conference. Registered delegates included teachers, non-teachers, Post Graduate trainees, members working in national and international organisation and others. Members retired from service also attended the conference. Under-graduate students, nursing staff and administrators attended some of the scientific sessions.**

Dr. Shobhit Garg , winner of last year completion for IAPSM Research Grant initiated by Prof. Akalanka Bhandari presented his study report before this august gathering. This year thirteen research proposal for Best Research Proposal Grant initiated by Prof. Akalanka Bhandari were submitted. After short listing by reviewing these proposals, three of them were selected for presentation in 34th Annual state conference. Dr. Leena Singh of Calcutta National Medical College was the winner. Total seven paper was submitted for Prof. MM Ganguly memorial award and winner were Dr. Arista Lahiri, Dr. Saumik Chakraborty, Jointly. In Prof. Ranadeb Biswas memorial poster competition first prize went to Dr. Saumik Chakraborty, and third prize went to Dr. Tania Pan and Dr. Nivedita Roy Chowdhury respectively.

Sixteen teams from different medical colleges attended Post-Graduate Medi-Quiz and winners were: Dr. Tania Pan, Dr. Soumit Roy (First prize) and Second prize: Dr. Swagata Mandal, Dr. Rita Biswas (Second prize).

Seventeen scientific sessions have been held and these were attractions of our members. Topic for scientific session include leprosy elimination, PCPNDT,AES Surveillance, Preventive cardiology, anger management, quality Assurance In HIV testing, work place mental health, Diabetes, Anaemia, Rehabillation Medicine, Depression, thyroid.

Unicef Sponsored Two sessions-1) Stop Stunting and 2) Kangaroo Mother Care and World Health Organisation Sponsored one session on neglected tropical diseases.

Inaugural session was held on 5th May 2018 with their kind presence of Prof. Debasis Bhattachayya, DME, Dr. Ajoy Chakraborty, DHS, Prof. Hasi Dasgupta, Principal, CMSDH, Prof. Gautam Kumar Joardar, MSVP, CMSDH, Prof. Baijayanti Baur, President, IAPSM WB Chapter, Prof. Manidipa Roy, Organising Chairperson, Dr. Palash Das, Secretary, IAPSM WB Chapter and Organising Secretary, 34th Annual Conference. Lamp lighting, inaugural song, souvenir publication, felicitation of senior members and undergraduate students, photo-session etc were the different activities of this session.

General Body meeting was held for the election of EC Body of IAPSM WB Chapter, Editorial Board members of the journal "JCH" and to frame the future guidelines for the association.